The gods in writers (and in everyone of us)

John Alabi
2 min readNov 23, 2021

--

Did you ever ask your parents a question and get a generic response because they didn’t know what the correct answer was?

Yeah, me too.

When I was younger, I used to rush home everyday from school bursting with questions. But my questions got more and more unanswerable, so I stopped pestering my parents and tried to figure things out instead.

Here we are, many years later, and I have yet another question that would surely get me shooed away if I asked mom and dad today.

Here goes…

Do you ever wonder what it feels like to be God? What does he think, feel, see, and do?

Just here thinking some thoughts…

Hmm.

While there might be an invisible force calling the shots from someplace yonder, I can’t help but feel that human beings have the same power of creation, if only to a lesser degree.

I’m even more aware of that creative power when I start writing and creating storylines.

What you will discover is, as a writer, you hold in your hands (or on your keyboard) the ability to change the minds of people and alter their perceptions; you can transform millions of lives with just a single piece of writing.

You choose the thought paths your readers follow and the emotions you elicit in the minds of your audience.

That’s some serious power, if you ask me.

But here is where it gets interesting. In our own way, every single one of us is a creator. We are actually gods walking on earth.

A man in full recognition of his creative power

How so?

We determine our choices and we determine how our story would be told even after we are long gone. We have the pen, we have the time at our disposal, we have the will to make changes. We can decide where our story ends.

It does not matter if you’ve never written a presidential speech, or a bestselling book on freedom. The ability to change and to create change lies within us.

So how are you using your godlike ability today?

What are you changing, or what have you changed about your life, relationships, habits, career, and friendships, in recent times? What did you notice as a result? Are you happy with how things turned out to be?

What lessons did you learn along the way?

Let me know in the comments.

--

--