What Is PMI?

Project Manager's Diary
4 min readOct 25, 2021

--

Guten Morgen Projektmanager!!

Before explaining what PMI is, I want to talk about how our paths crossed.
When I decided what I wanted to do, I started researching how to reach experts in this field like everyone else. I was also looking for environments where I could develop myself. At this point, I met PMI and PMI Turkey. In fact, you just need to write “What is project management” to Google for reaching PMI. I also saw that there are many sites and certificate programs in the field of project management on the internet. However, finding a reliable one seemed difficult. When I researched a little more, the deep-rooted history of the Project Management Institute and the reliability of its education and certification processes caught my attention.

Let’s take a look at what PMI is and why anyone interested in project management should join it. First of all, I think the following three paragraphs from their website best describe the values ​​of this institution:

“Project Management Institute (PMI) is the world’s leading professional association for a growing community of millions of project professionals and changemakers worldwide.

As the world’s leading authority on project management, PMI empowers people to make ideas a reality. Through global advocacy, networking, collaboration, research, and education, PMI prepares organizations and individuals to work smarter in an ever-changing and dynamic world.

Building on a proud legacy dating to 1969, PMI is a “for-purpose” organization working in nearly every country around the world to advance careers, strengthen organizational success, and enable changemakers with new skills and ways of working to maximize their impact. PMI offerings include globally recognized standards, certifications, online courses, thought leadership, tools, digital publications, and communities.”

On the other hand, when I became interested in project management, the first question I asked was “How do I prove my competence in this field?” In response, I found that the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification is the most valid certification in this field worldwide. CIO magazine also ranked the PMP as the best project management certification in North America because it demonstrates that you have the specific skills employers seek, a commitment to excellence, and the capacity to perform at the highest levels.

However, in order to get PMP, I need to have managed a project for at least 36 months as a university graduate. Although this saddens me a little, there is another certificate called Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) for enthusiastic and young project manager candidates like me. To get the CAPM certificate, you can apply from PMI’s page and attend almost PMP-level training. As someone who has received this training, I can say that I have learned a lot. Then you can get the certificate by taking the exam. As someone who is studying for the exam, I can recommend you to take advantage of PMBOK while studying :)

Finally, I would like to mention the part of volunteering. PMI operates in more than 200 countries. I started my own journey by meeting PMI Turkey in Turkey. After completing my CAPM training, I decided that I did not want to sever my ties with this institution and applied to work as a volunteer. Since there is a completely volunteer working environment inside, my application was immediately approved and we carried out very good processes and organizations with many experts in their fields. Examples of these are youth summit, digital summit, teacher trainings, membership experience studies.

I tried to explain PMI to you based on my own experiences. Apart from what I have said, this is an vast sea too. So there are lots of fish to catch inside! Blogs, magazines, programs and many more… I have learned and continue to learn a lot from this organization in the process. If I was going to talk about this journey, it would be not to mention PMI. You can also browse PMI’s website and contact me for any questions you may have. I always emphasize the importance of learning together, so volunteering in such organizations is a great experience.

Before concluding, I would like to extend a big thank you to the excellent PMI Turkey family. I am forwarding PMI’s website below for you to meet with PMI organizations in your own countries and for your questions.

P.S. In my next posts, I will share the notes from the CAPM training with you. I think great things will happen.

PMI: https://www.pmi.org/

PMI TR: https://www.pmi.org.tr/

--

--

Project Manager's Diary

I am writing about Project Management, I am here to learn and share together.