GSoC 18' Update 4: SPARQL

Prssanna Desai
2 min readJun 27, 2018

--

This week was all about improving the Graph Explorer.

Learning SPARQL
Before making changes to the core functionality of the Graph Explorer, I wanted to make myself familiar with SPARQL queries.
I used this tutorial.

Allowing to show incoming links in the Graph Explorer
In the existing state of the Graph Explorer, a user can see and expand outgoing links but not incoming links. I added this feature to make exploration of the query results more informative for users.

Graph Explorer + Incoming Links + Link Toggle + new Toolbar

Implementation
I wrote 2 new SPARQL queries to allow incoming links on the explorer to be shown. Showing both incoming and outgoing links at once would have made the explorer too crowded so I added a toggle switch to see either incoming or outgoing links using Bootstrap Toggle.

One issue I ran into was in the case of incoming links that number more than 50. This would crowd the Explorer Dialog and fetching such a large number of nodes at once would affect performance significantly.
To handle this problem, I added an extra node (of a different colour) that indicates the number of unexpanded nodes.

I also added hierarchical layout options to the graph explorer, similar to the graph result browser. This is accompanied by a ‘Fit-to-Screen’ button that resizes the visualisation to fit the window.

What’s Next?

  1. Finding other ways to improve the UX of the Graph Explorer
    eg. Navigation Buttons (left, right, up, down, zoom)
  2. Ensuring that the features written this week are production-ready.

--

--