Charles Babbage’s Difference Engine was finally built over a hundred years after his death

Creation vs Discovery

PseudoDeterminist
2 min readJul 16, 2022

--

In my view of the world, creation is what we do here on earth to build new things. Discovery is what we do when we *think* in order to get ideas.

Here, for me, it would be accurate to speak of a muse, or muses, or any number and kind of spiritual helpers from the great mystery beyond this universe, that we can conjure up in our minds.

Or we can choose the “cold” route, and call up ideas from pure mathematics (for one example) that have no personality but are available to our minds to try to reach.

I like to say that the great mystery beyond is the same thing Plato and Socrates spoke of when they spoke of knowledge that we “remember” from previous times *before* we were born.

So I’m a Platonist, or a Neo-Platonist, probably, though I have not checked by actual careful reading.

And I’m not going to do that now either, because I’m after only one idea today, Creation vs. Discovery.

The famous words, “As above, so below” mean precisely this, to me.

We Discover out there, by thinking. Everything out there is ALWAYS available if our minds can only find an imperfect path to it.

Every wrong way to build something. Every better way to build something. Everything we can design but cannot yet build, like a Babbage Computer.

Every Perfect Thing is out there too, in the Platonic Realm of Ideas.

Just waiting to be discovered there.

And created here.

--

--