10 Web Apps in 10 weeks!

Ilesanmi Temitope
3 min readMay 8, 2018

--

credits @ pexels.

Hey there! How’s it going? This is my first article on medium, and my very first article as a developer. Well, that came out wrong, let me put this straight, I’m a learner, not a developer per se.

I recently finished my most involving project so far (http://www.thenumericals.com) and I decided to do something nice for a change. Oh lest I forget, the Google Africa Challenge Scholarship has commenced today, I got in, I’m so excited to be part of ALC3.0.

I digress. So what’s this something “nice” I wanna do for a change? I’m building a web app every week for the next 10 weeks ! Yea, I know, not significant, but I’m a beginner, remember? So cut me some slack.

Now, I’m very busy considering that I’m involved in the ongoing HNGInternship 4.0 by Hotels.ng and now the Google Africa Scholarship, plus school resumes in one week and there’s a lot of activities I’m involved in there as well, tutorials and all. I know right, but (in Sheldon’s voice)

I’m not crazy, my mother had me tested

If you don’t know that statement, come on, get a life.

For this challenge I’ll be using a couple of resources, articles I’ve read on medium. Let’s start with, what do I know? Well, I know some php, I consider myself averagely good with CSS (maybe) and bootstrap. I have been using laravel for some months now and I think it’s time to step up my game. I’ve always talked about learning Vue. I’m gonna have to pick that up along the way. Oh my! Did I almost forget jquery. So, I guess I have mg toolbox, let’s rearrange in order from the easiest (for me of course):

  • HTML and CSS
  • Bootstrap
  • JavaScript (yea, I have to pick this up if I wanna pass the google challenge course)
  • Jquery
  • php
  • Laravel
  • Vue

Okay, what kind of projects will I be working on? Well, I think it’s appropriate here to mention the article that inspired me to do this, by Flavio Copes

I’ll be building most of the apps in that article. But I’m starting with the app built in Peter Jang’s article here

Also, there was this article by Ezekiel Oladejo about frontend development. Here’s the link

“How to be a Better Frontend Developer” @iamwebwiz

I’ll be using some of the tools in that article and the linked ones.

I’ll host all of these projects with githubpages. Hopefully that improves my git skills as well. I’ll post at least two articles per week, one at the start of the week to describe what I’ll be building for the week, one at the end when I’ve finished building, to describe how I built it. The second article could serve as a tutorial of sorts, maybe. So, if I don’t write those articles in any week, then I didn’t build anything, we cool?

Let’s get started. By the way, permit me to use this as the first article for this week. Come on, pleeeease!!!

This week I’ll be building a landing page for the project using this article by SaidHayani@

Till, I see you in the next article, I’m Santiago. Have a blessed week

--

--

Ilesanmi Temitope

Software developer, I write about Javascript, VueJs, Flutter and programming in general