A Simple Response to Evil

Bruce Pittman
3 min readJul 26, 2023

A simple life can be hard because life can be complicated, right? I have unanswered questions. Questions, big and small, like:

What’s the synonym for thesaurus?

Why do we usually find one shoe on the side of the road?

Why does your nose run and your feet smell?

Why didn’t Tarzan have a beard?

But on a more serious note:

Why do people believe ruthless dictators?

When did skin color become a judge of a person’s value?

Why does a 4-year-old get cancer?

Why doesn’t a drunk person go blind when he cranks a car?

It’s a messed up world. I bet you have a few questions you would classify as “a doozy,” don’t you?

These questions are too big for me to answer. So many situations don’t make sense to me. Life is complicated, which makes living simple difficult. And yet, simple is the answer to complicated. Anytime I’m struggling with complexity, I’ve learned to take the route of subtraction because when I take the path of less, I usually find a way forward.

For example, when life is complicated because of injustice and/or evil, I’ve learned a powerful principle. It’s simple, but effective:

Live good.

--

--

Bruce Pittman

Writer - Speaker - Life Coach - Guiding people to be led by love, not controlled by fear