Trying to study Machine Learning Theory while in Computer Engineer Major

G4rty
3 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Hello I’m Pub. Now I’m a second year (2024) in Computer Engineering major At MFU . I’m living in Thailand

I have a goal to understand machine learning and deep learning, the point is now I’m studying computer engineering.

Why is a point ?

In my University focus only about coding stuff (I mean really about coding) that my math course is not deep in theory (e.g. my mathematics for computer engineer course teaching about calculus 1 and 2 in the same course)

I want to really understand how machine learning and deep learning work, and I can’t start new degree , so I trying to study on my own while I’m trying to get a good grade at my bachelor.

Also, I wish I choose math major instead of Computer engineering. I don’t said that computer engineering is bad but I found myself that I very enjoyed in theory of mathematics and how it application to machine learning.

Plan

This is my plan I have textbook or subject that I’m have interest in I ask chatGPT for detail about textbook and pre-requirement, and this is what I got

(My interest is Probabilistic Machine Learning and Deep Learning by Ian Goodfellow)

Textbook

Mainly I will studying with textbook is the best resource for me (with help of ChatGPT 4)

Linear Algebra

  • “Introduction to Linear Algebra” by Gilbert Strang

Calculus

  • “Calculus: Early Transcendentals” by James Stewart

Probability

  • “A First Course in Probability” by Sheldon Ross

Statistics

I have no idea where to start statistics, so I asked ChatGPT and it recommend me

  • “All of Statistics: A Concise Course in Statistical Inference” by Larry Wasserman

Introduction to Machine Learning

  • “Introduction to Machine Learning” by Ethem Alpaydin

or

  • “Pattern Recognition and Machine Learning” by Christopher M. Bishop

Probabilistic Machine Learning

I am very interest in Probabilistic Machine Learning.

  • “Probabilistic Machine Learning: Introduction and Advanced”

Deep Learning

  • “Deep Learning” by Ian Goodfellow, Yoshua Bengio, and Aaron Courville

Too much Theory!!

  • It maybe seem like I do so much theory and not do practical(code and project) but this is why I’m interesting in machine learning, anyway I try to find the a good practical textbook or way to practice for sure!!!
  • Really I enjoy math theory so much that I want to study real analysis but for now the goal is understand and create project about machine learning as fast as I can

The Course

Calculus, Linear Algebra

I really love a Proffesor Hania Course on Pre-calculus, Calculus and I will use her course as a supplements or even main resource for me.

The course is sweet spot between real-analysis and application in calculus.

Probability

Stanford CS109 Introduction to Probability for Computer Scientist

  • This is why I choose “Sheldon Ross, A First Course in Probability” to be my mainly textbook because it optional resource for this course.

Probabilistic Machine Learning

My update

My update is here just mini update to my journal.

Very sure that no one will se this post but I do it anyway.

  • 04 Jun 24 — First day start this journal / In the middle of Semester break /trying to finish calculus 1.

--

--