A panorama of Open Data

On September 28th, I’ve given a brief talk at the OpenLaws Open Innovation Workshop at the London School of Economics.

The talk focused on the direction the Open Data agenda is following, and it was formed of three streams:

  1. legal and policy issues
  2. examples of use of Open Data that are driving innovation
  3. what lies ahead

I mentioned all things Ordnance Survey, OPSI, TransportAPI.com, Release of Data Fund, and National Information Infrastructure.

The audio from the talk is on Sound Cloud:

Here are the slides:

The following is a list to all items I mentioned in the talk.

Open Data User Group

Appointment: https://www.gov.uk/government/groups/open-data-user-group

Current non-gov website: http://odug.org.uk/

Owen Boswarva’s collection of ODUG-related items: http://www.owenboswarva.com/opendata/ODUGUK_cases.htm

Data.Gov.Uk Data Requests: https://data.gov.uk/data-request

ODUG Data Request Roadmap: https://data.gov.uk/odug-roadmap

Historical and legal items

Ten Years After Katrina: New Orleans’ Recovery, and What Data Had to Do with It: https://medium.com/@WhiteHouse/ten-years-after-katrina-new-orleans-recovery-and-what-data-had-to-do-with-it-3df0bb2467e9

Open Data Licences: http://thegovlab.org/open-data-whats-in-a-name/

Open Government Licence: http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/doc/open-government-licence/version/3/

Open Northern Ireland Assembly Licence: http://data.niassembly.gov.uk/licence.aspx

Public Toilets published through the LGA Incentive Scheme: http://incentive.opendata.esd.org.uk/

Derived Data: ODUG’s background and case for lifting the restrictions: https://data.gov.uk/derived-data-licensing-easing-third-party-restrictions-on-onward-data-use-open-data-user-group-novem

Issues around Public Toilet Licensing:

http://theodi.org/how-open-data-can-help-us-all-find-the-toilet

https://data.gov.uk/sites/default/files/20130717%20OS%20Open%20Data%20Licensing_10.pdf

https://gailknight.wordpress.com/2011/03/18/ordnance-survey/

OPSI: Complaint Report (77M vs Ordnance Survey): http://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/documents/information-management/ordnance-survey-complaint-report.pdf

National Address Data:

https://data.gov.uk/benefits-of-national-address-data

https://data.gov.uk/blog/dont-sell-our-postcodes-odug-on-why-we-should-have-open-addressing-in-the-uk

https://data.gov.uk/library/odug-response-to-ofcom-paf-review-consultation

Public Records and Registers:

https://theodi.org/blog/lobbyist-register-should-be-open-data

http://sunlightfoundation.com/blog/2014/03/17/open-data-is-the-next-iteration-of-public-records/

FOI Code of Practice on Datasets:

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/243468/9780108512636.pdf

http://www.owenboswarva.com/opendata/analysis_code_datasets.htm

Examples of Open Data in Use

Transport API: http://transportapi.com

Trafford Innovation Lab:

https://traffordinnovationlab.wordpress.com/

http://www.infotrafford.org.uk/lab

http://www.infotrafford.org.uk/lab/portfolio/area-profiles

http://www.infotrafford.org.uk/defibrillators

Adzuna: https://www.adzuna.co.uk/

Food Trade: http://foodtrade.com/

Skills Route: http://www.skillsroute.com/

New South Wales uses Open Data to name and shame shonky businesses: http://www.governmentnews.com.au/2015/05/nsw-uses-open-data-to-name-and-shame-shonky-businesses/

Flood Hack event looks to help relief efforts: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-26225962

Shoothill Gauge Map: http://www.gaugemap.co.uk/

Why grease is the word in New York: http://www.ft.com/cms/s/2/a284331a-9751-11e2-a77c-00144feabdc0.html#axzz3XOJKf7Ls

Other

ODUG on the National Information Infrastructure: https://data.gov.uk/blog/national-information-infrastructure-nii

https://data.gov.uk/sites/default/files/library/odugUK_NII_final%20%281%29.pdf

Gov.uk: The midata vision of consumer empowerment: https://www.gov.uk/government/news/the-midata-vision-of-consumer-empowerment

How midata will affect business and consumers: http://www.computerweekly.com/news/2240172172/How-Midata-will-affect-business-and-consumers