Purbashaeco Helpline
2 min readMay 21, 2023

Green greetings!

My name is Umashankar Mandal, a geography teacher, and most people know me as ‘mangrove man’. I was born and brought up in a remote island in Sundarban; from childhood, I have learned to live symbiotically with nature. Due to frequent cyclonic activities, specifically the Aila, have hugely disrupted the ecological balance of many parts of Sundarban. Since then (May 25, 2009), I have been continuously working to restore ecological balance and enhance biological diversity through planting diverse species of mangroves in Chargheri (Lat: 21.9333, Long: 88.8500). Moreover, I am also working in the development of local communities, women’s health and hygiene, child education, and supporting the livelihood of tiger attack families. I also occasionally organize health camps and environmental awareness programs, renovate pondsand distribute relief during the disaster period.
Our planted forest is diverse with different species of mangroves such as Garran, Bine, Garjan, Kakra, Dhundul, Pashur, Keora, Gaoa, Sundari, and Dhani Grass. Initially, we made and put artificial bird nests on five hundred trees. Now, it became home to thousands of birds. Besides, as the forest becomes denser, the bees find their new shelter here. Furthermore, the primary producer found abundant below and near the planted forest area consequently, different types of fiddlers (red, blue, yellow), different types of crabs, and scrip established their new colony. In a word, we have created a sustainable biodiverse mangrove ecosystem.
I am pleased to be honored with Dr. Rimington International Award by World Wildlife Fund (WWF) as the first Indian for my service to mother earth. I help many research work nationally and internationally to produce scientific knowledge. To create a future generation with a deep sense of environmental and biodiversity knowledge, I have established a non-formal school in Chargheri where students are practically learning about the importance of biodiversity and the environment.

I hope, you will spread this message to your friends and people around you. I express my warm greetings to all in advance.

Thank you,
Best wishes,
MANGROVE MAN(Umashankar Mandal)