Misfits

Piyumika Jayawardene
1 min readJan 27, 2023

--

Thousands lightbulbs
From top to bottom of the faculty
Another function
Another day of calender
Another chance to look back
At thousands mistakes I made

It makes me wonder
When would I ever belong
I dreamt of this profession
Ever so much long

But I was never a "one"
I never found a place
I was forever undone
My presence was never embraced

How naive I was
How bad I wanted to fit in
How that meeting felt like
How nothing really matters

It felt divine to meet at that day
I made him shy with our first encounter
Never knew I had to write such a complicated tale
With that stranger who took my heart away

Five years went by
Broken hearts got mended by
How temperemental bonds are
How life take unexpected turns

Does it really matters
Do I have to really belong
Why can't I be in seclusion
Without feeling bad for being a misfit?

--

--

Piyumika Jayawardene

I'm a medical student in Sri Lanka interested in Psychiatry,Philosophy and Literature