Book Thoughts: “Essentialism” by Greg McKeown

PYPE dreams
2 min readDec 15, 2023

--

Book: Essentialism: The Disciplined Pursuit of Less
Author: Greg McKeown
Cover Design and Art: Amy Hayes

pype_dreams

The Person I’d Recommend it to…

… is feeling pulled in a million directions. They are feeling burned out and don’t know where are or how to find sustainability in their life, career, and relationships. They want to make intentional, lasting changes.

Overall Thoughts

I wrote a whole review for this book before realizing that maybe the best review would be to simply write my most essential learning from the book.

So here it is:

Trade-offs are good. By saying yes to one thing, I actively say no to another. By saying no, I release myself from obligations, absorbed brain space, and what ifs. By fully committing to my yes, I can be more confident in my decision, more focused, and more at ease.

Trade-offs are good. And so is this book.

Quotes

“Trade-offs are not something to be ignored or decried. They are something to be embraced and made deliberately, strategically, and thoughtfully.”

Book illustration

“Essentialism is not about how to get more things done; it’s about how to get the right things done. It doesn’t mean just doing less for the sake of less either. It is about making the wisest possible investment of your time and energy in order to operate at our highest point of contribution by doing only what is essential.”

Summary

pype_dreams

--

--