Poem: Heaven Opened Its Doors

Quaisha A. Thornton
2 min readApr 25, 2018
Northern Lights via Zedge Wallpaper

They call it the pearly gates of lights

Its so in awe and its shining bright

Brighter than a Christmas tree seen at night

Prettier than the tree at Rockefeller Center

In the town that never sleeps, never flickers

More pure than a diamond that thinks its better

People have shed blood, but this is shed love, more than silence

Heavier than bullets from a gun with a licence

I see you standing there, waving and smiling

Your whole body is glowing, its blinding

It makes me glow too, its astounding

Then I realize the vision is in my head

As thick as the thickest piece of lead

Sharpening every time we speak

My guard grows tremendously weak

Are you my savior who comes to me?

The one I’ve been searching for my whole life to see?

The man that wants me to just be

Call upon those gates, I will kneel and early

Your words are so pearly, no wonder I always swirl

I pledge my allegiance to this man standing before me

He honors and respects, he has my loyalty

~”Heaven Opened Its Doors” by Quaisha Thornton of The Poet Pledge

Liked my poem? Check out my previous ones and let me know what you think!

--

--

Quaisha A. Thornton

I'm a Writer, Momprenuer and Marketer. I'm learning to follow my dream of starting a writing business. I post my writings, inspirational lessons and journey.