Her First Day

A poem about my emotions of my daughter approaching her first day of school.

Quaisha A. Thornton
1 min readAug 20, 2023
Baby M on her 1st day of Pre-K / photo captured by Quaisha Thornton

My first born has finally made it

Her first day of school is almost here

She's grown so much

I'm so excited

I'm full of emotions

I even think it's too soon

I know I'll have separation anxiety

Probably more than her

She'll look at me

And think 'Why the long face?'

I'll have more of a breakdown

Then she will ever know

We've been in the trenches so long

Its hard to let go

I sometimes wish things were different

And I keep working on them everyday

To provide for her and her sister

I know I cannot delay

I hope she will still love me

When I have to leave her on her first day

So she can enjoy learning and be social

Make friends and parlay

I'm nervous for her

But we'll be alright

I'll be right there when her class ends

And she can see my smile shining bright

❣️

© Quaisha A. Thornton 2023

--

--

Quaisha A. Thornton

I'm a Writer, Momprenuer and Marketer. I'm learning to follow my dream of starting a writing business. I post my writings, inspirational lessons and journey.