Poem: The Single Mother Blues

A triumph poem dedicated to all the Single Mothers — stay blessed.

Quaisha A. Thornton
2 min readJun 30, 2023
Originally created by author via Bing AI

I look here and I look there
There’s always someone that says,
being with a single mother is unfair
That they don’t deserve love
That they don’t deserve happiness
That they’ve had their chance
And they’ve messed it up spectacularly
Without knowing the circumstance,
we get judged
All of a sudden
raising your child
is looked at as a problem
The village it took
is no longer there
You’re on your own
while your family and friends disown
They want you to bare the cross
That you somehow created
And be glad to hang from it
No matter the sacrifices you made
You better keep a smile on it
I guess with our single lives
We are supposed to not live yet die
Not everyone is created equal
Good actions deserves good vibes
Our chips on our shoulders
should be peeled away
By loving and caring people
who’d look our way
Sorry, not sorry
We need to love ourselves
We need to heal
then love another again
And it will be so real
We are not parasites
We are not abnormal
We are people
Just like you

--

--

Quaisha A. Thornton

I'm a Writer, Momprenuer and Marketer. I'm learning to follow my dream of starting a writing business. I post my writings, inspirational lessons and journey.