THE TOLL OF RELOCATION ON FRIENDSHIPS & RELATIONSHIPS

Tobiloba Owoade
3 min readAug 3, 2023
Photo by yousef alfuhigi on Unsplash

To be honest, I believe every adult has something to say about relocation, whether you are the one who relocated or a loved one relocated. The question is are we going to continue like this?

Shey na like this we go dey dey???

Now the real bone of contention is that a lot of people abroad are bored and actually miss the ‘Naija vibe’ and a lot of Nigerians miss their friends abroad.

Personally, I know a lot of people abroad, and I know a lot of people about to go and let’s be frank, there is no stopping soon. Like I told my friend on Twitter the other day, it is not just about wanting to make more money; it is about stability in life. Some laws in this country can hinder anyone’s progress for real. Look at the few things that happened on the 2nd & 3rd of August for example. It is crazy. I was so livid.

The worst ones are people in relationships who had to let their partners go abroad for greener pastures. A lot of my friends had to break up with their partners because of the Japa movement.

Shey na like this we go dey dey?

Small gist…

A friend of mine got an offer in the US a while ago; he informed the HOD of my department in school (Chemical Engineering, Unilag) about it, and the first thing she asked was, DO YOU HAVE A GIRLFRIEND?” That brings me to this particular question:HOW BORING IS IT ABROAD”? (If you are abroad and reading this, reply me)

The answer to this question can’t even be answered by people like me still in Nigeria. 80% of the single Nigerians in the diaspora are kind of lonely, some even had to come back to Nigeria because they were bored to death. This leads me to the conclusion that THERE IS A DIFFERENT PROBLEM FOR EVERY STAGE IN LIFE.

I am just writing this to express my pain about this japa rave. There is nothing we can do about it, and so shall it be.

There have been a lot of debates on which is better, staying back in Nigeria or traveling abroad. The way this country is going, that debate is about to be over. Four of my friends are leaving within the next month (those are the ones I know, I’m sure there are people who are going that haven’t said a word).

I moved to a new apartment in February, and this year I had four guys as neighbors in two flats. Two have left, and Two are leaving soon. It is sad, and at the same time, It is a thing of joy. Anyway, I have run out of words, If you can leave the country, please leave. Have a good time.

Follow me on Twitter, LinkedIn and give me 50 claps

I am a UI/UX designer. check my CV here

--

--