Why Being a Loner is SO Much Better than being in the Crowd (Part 2)

DaJaNay Askew
4 min readApr 23, 2018

The word “loner” tends to have a negative connotation. It usually means someone that is socially isolated or awkward, but I have learned to value this term and make it acceptable. We all wish to be part of a social circle, and sometimes, we change our behavior to do so. But what if you just don’t fit in? Yeah, this happens more often than not. I personally, have never fitted into a group or social circle. I have always been that person who was “just different.” My perspectives on life and my unwillingness to follow the crowd has left me in solitude, but I have learned to embrace it. Being alone is not always the most desirable thing to be, but it has helped me grow tremendously, and I will give you my reasons why being a loner is better than fitting into a crowd.

1. Not being easily influenced.

Most people who are members of large social circles tend to be influenced by the actions of their counterparts. Luckily, as a loner, I don’t have to deal with this. I do not have to deal with the constant pressure of wanting to engage in bad behaviors or change my behaviors to match those of others. Large groups can influence…

--

--

DaJaNay Askew

Realist, Educator, Entrepreneur, Ph.D student. Just a strong woman who’s passionate about improving lives of others while being completely transparent.