Violet Delights
1 min readMar 13, 2021

--

This actually raises some interesting questions for me because I usually don’t mind crass, offensive lyrics but I find this song and the video unnerving. It brings to mind one of my favorite songs about oral sex, “Blowjob Betty” by Too $hort. “Blowjob Betty” is offensive as hell. It’s demeaning to women. However, it’s also clever and funny and I happen to really enjoy that song. So what’s the difference? Why do I enjoy one and not the other? Is it only because “Blowjob Betty” is an older song (only a couple of years older than myself) or is it because this one has that awful video? Obviously the style is different and I have an affinity for old school West Coast hip-hop. Maybe I’m just really sick of hearing auto-tune singing?

After some introspection (not a whole lot, admittedly — this is the internet in 2021 after all so my attention span is somewhat limited) I came to the conclusion that it’s because “Blowjob Betty” is funny. And I am a sucker for narrative songwriting.

Well, that and the fact that “throat babies” might be the dumbest phrase I have ever heard so hearing somebody sing it again and again and again just does not appeal. I sincerely hope that one does not catch on and become part of our common vernacular because it makes me want to slap someone.

--

--

Violet Delights

I don’t fit into any of your little boxes so don’t try putting me in one. I’m here to play the Devil’s advocate.