A Mirror’s Truth

qm write’s✍️
2 min readJul 12, 2024

The reflection staring back at me from the mirror isn’t always a friendly face. Sometimes, it’s a stranger, a collection of flaws and insecurities that I try desperately to hide. I see the moments of weakness, the impulsive decisions, the times I’ve let myself down and those I love. It’s a harsh self-assessment, a brutal honesty that leaves me feeling exposed and vulnerable. And in those moments, the thought whispers in my mind, a chilling truth I can’t deny: “If I were you, I’d leave me too.”

It’s a heavy burden to carry, this self-doubt, this fear of being found wanting. I know I’m not perfect, that I make mistakes, and that sometimes, I’m just plain hard to love. It’s a truth that cuts deep, a constant reminder of my own imperfections. I long to be someone else, someone more worthy of love, someone who wouldn’t make the same mistakes. But I know that’s not possible. I am who I am, flaws and all.

And yet, I can’t help but wonder if anyone could truly see past the flaws, the imperfections, the moments of weakness. Could they see the good within, the potential, the love that I have to offer? Or would they, like me, choose to walk away? It’s a question that haunts me, a constant reminder of the fragility of connection and the fear of being rejected for who I truly am.

--

--

qm write’s✍️
0 Followers

Ink bleeds on the page, A world of my own, Where thoughts take flight, And worries are unknown.