But I’m a Cheerleader (1991) and The Intervention (2016)

queer indian girl
3 min readSep 4, 2024

--

Again, a huge fan of this movie. And as always, a meaningful wlw movie is incomplete without a social message, this one packs many. It’s the best satire you’ll ever watch on conversion “therapy”. To present such a horrible thing in such a digestible way, kudos to the writers, director, actors, everyone. Special mention of The Intervention (2016) here for reasons you’ll find out maybe from the poster and will probably love when you watch the film, if you haven’t already.

First of all, I’m a huge fan of Natasha Lyonne as well. I mean I’ve never seen a woman play queer so well. For those who’ve seen her in The Russian Doll (sidenote, having Annie Murphy have an important cameo in it just gave my little queer heart nirvana), please watch this movie, But I’m a Cheerleader, watch also Orange is the New Black, and The Intervention. I think I need a Natasha Lyonne poster on my wall, feel free to gift one to me, eheh. Anyway, it all essentially begins with an intervention. As may be the case with many queers, Megan’s friends and family already know before she does, that she is into women. And the intervention is to convince her to go to a rehab to get converted to becoming straight. Never mind the place is run by a bunch of homos, but unlike alcoholics, there’s nothing like a rehabilitated homo. It’s just a part of the satire, and anyone with a brain is bound to enjoy this.

“You’re right, I am a homosexual, but I’ll be regular soon.”

So they take a queer girl and put her in a house with other queer females, and the rest, as you can imagine, is history.

My obvious most favourite scene is Megan and Graham’s first kiss. But also, just everything that Natasha does. The look of innocence, listlessness, that she’s playing that phase of our lives where we’re a straight gay girl and it’s just entropy.

And now, The Intervention. Does a movie end and you ever think what might happen to the happy new couple, will they soon part, or actually live happily ever after? The Intervention is the answer, at least to the Natasha and Clea pairing. They are a longterm couple now in the film. This time they’re visiting a holiday house for the intervention of another couple. But they find their longterm partnership on the rocks on this holiday. My best scene? The whole concept, to see my Megan and Graham grown up together as a longterm couple. Probably not a happily-ever-after, but certainly a realistic and lovable couple. But still if I had to choose, my most favourite would be the fight scene, with a lot of smooches flinging among a lot of people amidst the fight.

Special mention, Melanie Lynskey also appears significantly in both the films, you may also know her from Heavenly Creatures (1994) opposite Kate Winslet. Coming back, Clea and Natasha have lovely chemistry and look great together (to me especially in The Intervention as a more mature wlw longterm partnership).

(don’t they look so pretty all grown up and adorable together?)

“1 2 3 4… I won’t take no anymore
5 6 7 8… I want you to be my mate
1 2 3 4… you’re the one that I adore
5 6 7 8… don’t run from me, this is fate”.

--

--

queer indian girl

I'm a Qig, queer Indian girl (hope this term catches on someday, or not). have created this blog to write whatever the hell queer.