Autumn Breeze
2 min readMar 30, 2024

--

“Hard of Hearing” or “deaf”?

I can hear enough of my husband’s words when he talks, but I can’t hear the microwave beep when my coffee is heated.

I can hear my phone ring if it is next to me, but am unable to if it is in another room.

I can lip-read and hear vowels and know enough of the English language to predict what some people might say, but sometimes I walk right on by not knowing you are calling my name.

I use closed captions every time at home, but cannot hear more than three sentences at a three hour movies without my aids.

I use a vibrating alarm to wake up, because when my ear is in the pillow it doesn’t make enough sound in the morning.

I don’t make calls auditorally anymore, but use the relay service and read conversations by AI now. Especially long distance ones.

I can order a combo #3 at McDonalds, but cannot confirm the order in the drive through. I hope they heard me correctly.

I ask others to use texting or IM exclusively when contacting me if possible, but phone calls are ignored until I feel like reading the transcript afterwards.

I write out my order by text in a crowded restaurant, but can’t hear the waitress when she approaches our table, introducing herself.

I can talk and read lips, but I would rather you sign to me. I hate being unclear and making mistakes on old ways of communicating.

I attend family gatherings (regularly), but get frustrated soon after if there are too many attendants or tv’s blaring in the background. I’m the only one that signs.

My loss for low frequencies is only 35 dB, but for high it is now topping 85 dB.

I talk about my hearing issues often with friends and family, but most of the time only a few accomodations are made.

So which group am I in? Hard of hearing? Deaf? I’m still trying to figure it out.

--

--