I Want To Live-Stream with RaceCast.me

Just Tell Me What I Need To Know — NOW!

RaceCast.me Tech Writer
3 min readJul 29, 2016

QUESTION: How does it work?

ANSWER: A picture is worth a 1,000 words and I’m sure you don’t want to read 1,000 of my words right now! So picture it is.

QUESTION: I want to stream right now, what is the easiest way to do it?

ANSWER: Using your Android or Apple device! 4 steps, 2 minutes.

Live-Stream Directly From Your Smartphone
  1. Sign Up for a free account at https://live.racecast.me/signup
  2. Choose “Smartphone / Tablet“ from https://live.racecast.me/setup and download the Wowza GoCoder App for your phone using the link provided.
  3. Click the green “Configure Apple” or “Configure Android” button that corresponds to your phone type on the smartphone setup page https://live.racecast.me/setup/smartphone This will launch the Wowza GoCoder App on your phone and ask you to overwrite existing settings, choose YES.
  4. Push the red circle button in the bottom right corner of the Wowza GoCoder App to begin streaming, then visit https://live.racecast.me/profile (on a device other than the phone you are streaming from) to view your live stream!
  5. (Optional but recommended) Set a Profile Alias for your profile page so you have a personalized (and easy to remember) URL for your family, friends and fans to view your broadcasts (live and replays), do this in your account settings https://live.racecast.me/settings

QUESTION: The broadcast from my phone looks OK, but I want to stream in HD, what is the cheapest/easiest way to do that?

ANSWER: If you already own a sports action camera like a GoPro that has an HDMI output, you can use a live-stream encoder and a mifi hotspot to stream in HD. Check out our Medium article Live-Streaming with RaceCast.me using a GoPro for more information.

QUESTION: How much data is this going to use?

ANSWER: Budget for about 500MB / hour. Cellular data plans are usually sold in GB. 1000MB = 1GB. A 5GB plan will get you about 10hours of streaming.

QUESTION: What cell carrier should I choose?

ANSWER: We get asked this question a lot so we have begun compiling data from the tracks our customers are streaming from. Check out our Cellular Data Quality — Results Per Track Based on Actual Live-Stream Experience google sheet. If you visit a track or use a carrier at a track we don’t already have results for, please email us and help out the community!

Let us know what carrier you were using so we can review your archive and add the information to our spreadsheet! support@racerconnect.com

QUESTION: I have more questions, how do I contact you?

ANSWER: We are a bunch of tech nerds and prefer email! Please mail us at support@racerconnect.com with your questions, we are here to help you get setup with this great new technology!

Live-Stream in HD from your Race Car, Motorcycle or Kart with RaceCast.me!

Now Get Out There and STREAM THE WORLD!

--

--