I haven’t got all day: A mum’s search for a flexible content design role

Part 2: What I’m doing

Rachael Harwood
3 min readJan 22, 2023
Pastel coloured sunset in a cloud-filled sky over a still grey ocean
Heading home on the ferry after a content meet-up at Spark in Tāmaki Makaurau

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3

My job search has 3 dimensions: networking, clarifying my vision and learning (always learning).

I wish networking as an introvert got you double points, because it feels twice as hard

When I’m not applying for roles, I network. People have told me it’s how you learn about opportunities before they’re public knowledge, before they’re a twinkle in HR’s eye.

It doesn’t feel fair. Being able to network is a privilege. I find in-person networking challenging because of my caregiving responsibilities, and because I’m sensitive and introverted. I can only guess at what it’s like for people with fewer resources and bigger challenges.

But networking also enriches my understanding of content design, and has helped me connect with and support other people who are struggling to find their place in it.

So I have:

  • Attended meet-ups
  • Had virtual coffees with people in the industry
  • Written LinkedIn and Medium posts
  • Joined Slack communities

Cost: Energy and time.

A clarifying vision stops me giving up

In her book Grit, Angela Duckworth talks about top-level goals. A goal you could set your watch by. One that steers your efforts, decisions and lower-level goal-setting for years. A goal that gives your life meaning.

I’ve wanted to be a UX writer ever since I heard it existed. (I talk about my career goals more in part one of this series.) Years have passed and my vision has refined: I want to create experiences that support digital equity and accessibility in Aotearoa New Zealand. This goal is meaningful to me.

Well-intentioned family members tell me to focus on my kids and not add stress to my life by working too much. This brings me to another top-level goal: I want to give my children opportunities. Opportunities to travel, to play, to learn, to dive into life. For us, that means two incomes.

When you have meaningful goals, setbacks are just that. You don’t consider quitting, you just push on into the wind and keep going.

Cost: A vision is free!

I’m creating my own education

Thanks again to Grit, I learned about the idea of deliberate practice. It’s the focused, intentional, mindful practice that reveals where you can do better.

I’m using Mobbin to view app screens and flows, which I’ve recreated in Figma, making notes about why they’re good or re-writing them if they’re not so good. I’m also sketching out an app idea, mocking up onboarding experiences and interactions. I do this for half an hour most mornings before I start my workday.

My do-it-yourself studies

  1. Reading

When I’m not reading books about parenting, I’m reading all the big hits from the UX and content space:

Cost: Time and a little bit of money.

2. Courses

  • A UX Writing course through UX Content Collective
  • UX Foundations courses (Research and Digital Accessibility) by LinkedIn Learning
  • Video content in an online UX Design Masterclass by Filament Creative
  • Introduction to Web Accessibility by edX

Cost: Time and money.

I once wrote about wishing I hadn’t gone to university. I’m jealous of Past Me’s spare time and money. I wish I could merge her reality with the clarity I have now.

But I’m on the right track and pointing in the right direction, let’s see where I end up.

--

--

Rachael Harwood

rach.nz | content designer in Aotearoa New Zealand | open to permanent part-time content roles