Queer Books to Read This Pride (And Year-Round!)

Rachael Arsenault
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

Photo by Robert Anasch on Unsplash

There are never enough queer books, as far as I’m concerned. I’m always looking for new ones to read — and I know lots of other book lovers are, too. My queer book rec for Pride Month did well last year, so in interest of spreading the love, I’m sharing five more recs this year.

Let’s get into it!

-

Iron Widow by Xiran Jay Zhao

This book has me in a chokehold. I read it back in December of 2021 and I’m desperate for the sequel. Zetian is an incredible protagonist — angry and bitter and viciously determined, willing to do horrifying things to undo an even more horrifying system of oppression and abuse. I love how important every side of the romantic triangle is to the story, that it includes two bisexual men, and that all characters are happily onboard with a polyamorous relationship. And that this polyamory is explicitly stated to make them stronger.

These Witches Don’t Burn by Isabel Sterling

I know I’ve recommended this book twice before, but that’s not about to stop me from recommending it again. It’s genuinely just an excellent book, with a well laid out mystery, high stakes, and a multitude of queer characters. Plus, I’m a sucker for witchy books and contemporary fantasy. So, if you’re ever in the market for queer, witchy, contemporary YA, definitely give this book a go.

The Sunbearer Trials by Aiden Thomas

This book had me laughing out loud at some points and deeply, deeply stressed at others. It’s set in a queer-normative, Mexican-inspired world populated with demigods, a competition that ends with the loser being ritually sacrificed, and a budding friends-to-enemies-to-something­ MLM relationship. Yet another book whose sequel can’t come out soon enough.

In Deeper Waters by F. T. Lukens

Do you like mermen? Do you like pirates? Do you like political intrigue? Do you like secret magic and a legacy of guilt? Then this book about a bisexual magic prince and his merman lover is right up your alley! Great plot, high stakes, and a very sweet romance. Honestly, the perfect vibes for a summer read.

Chef’s Kiss by TJ Alexander

Let’s pivot away from all the fantasy for a quick second and instead look at some straight up contemporary romance. Well, maybe “straight up” isn’t the best turn of phrase in this case. Simone is bisexual, her love interest Ray is enby, and there’s a multitude of other queer minor characters featured throughout. All the foodie descriptions made me hungry, the character share several thoughtful and thought provoking conversations about various aspects of queer identities, and Simone is a very relatable ball of anxiety.

-

And that does it for this Pride’s list of book recs! I’m definitely planning to share more in the future, and would love to hear about what queer books you’ve been reading lately.

-x-

Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this, please check out my other work and consider clapping, sharing, and following. You can also follow me for updates on my writing, book reviews, and general nerding out over on Tumblr, Instagram, and YouTube under the handle rachaellawrites.

--

--

Rachael Arsenault

Rachael Arsenault is a Canadian author from Prince Edward Island. She is a hippie at heart, a D&D nerd, and a pun enthusiast.