Valentine’s Romance Reads from a (Wannabe) Lover of Romance

Rachael Arsenault
4 min readFeb 2, 2023

--

Photo by Theo Crazzolara on Unsplash

Try as I might to get into romance, I frequently find myself DNF’ing books in this genre. Something always feels off, or I don’t vibe with the writing style, or there’s an element to the humor or commentary that rubs me the wrong way. Maybe it’s just not for me?

But, then again, I have found romances and romance-heavy books that I absolutely adored. So clearly there is some sort of niche that fits for me — I’m just having trouble finding it.

I’m sure there are others in my shoes: Aspiring romance readers who just can’t quite find the right book. If that is the case, maybe I can offer some recommendations? From one picky romance reader to another!

The Bromance Book Club Series by Lyssa Kay Adams

Image taken from Goodreads

I’m gonna be honest: This is definitely not my favourite. The first two books were pleasant-but-unremarkable 3-star reads for me. And yet… I keep coming back for the next book — and I read them fast. There’s something comforting about these books and their simplicity. I’ll probably keep reading the series for a long while, even if it consistently garners 3-stars. If I like it enough to come back for more, maybe you will as well!

Spicy?: Moderately.

Diversity?: Thus far, all the leads have been straight and white. The male main character of the first book has a speech impediment, but otherwise it’s pretty white bread.

The Brown Sisters Series by Talia Hibbert

Image taken from Goodreads

I devoured all three of these books and wish there was more. They’re funny, sexy, smart, and have a strong emotional core. All the heroes and heroines experience real growth. The chemistry is impeccable. And I found the conflicts and characters engaging. Definitely a series I long to reread and highly recommend.

Spicy? Very.

Diversity? Yes! The titular Brown sisters are all plus-size black women, Chloe Brown lives with chronic illness, Dani Brown is bi with a Muslim love interest grappling with anxiety, and Eve Brown is autistic with an autistic love interest.

Chef’s Kiss by T.J. Alexander

Image taken from Goodreads

I took a little longer to warm up to this one, but once I was in, I was hooked. It’s slow burn, it grapples with complex and emotional topics without feeling super heavy or dour, and the excellent food descriptions made me very hungry.

Spicy?: A little.

Diversity?: Yup! The Simone is bi and her love interest is enby.

Counting Down With You by Tashie Bhuiyan

Image taken from Goodreads

A YA romance novel with fake dating that turns real, a deadline for their relationship, and heaps of familial pressure and mental health struggles. For how much Karina struggles with anxiety and her relationship with her parents, something about this book was still very soft and warm. Probably because of the central relationship with Ace and how sweet he was with Karina.

Spicy? No.

Diversity? The MC is a Bangladeshi Muslim who grapples with major anxiety.

In Deeper Waters by F.T. Lukens

Image taken from Goodreads

A high-stakes plot of pirates and diplomacy wrapped around a love story between a secret mage and a merman. I mean, what’s not to love? The pacing was excellent, the plot clever, and the characters lovable. Definitely recommend if you want some fantasy and adventure with your romance!

Spicy?: Implied/referenced.

Diversity?: Bisexual protagonist with a queer male love interest.

-

And that’s all the recommendations I have at the moment. Hopefully I’ll find more romances to love in 2023 and can recommend them next year!

-

If you enjoyed this article, please consider clapping and sharing, and follow me if you’d like to see more book recs. You can also follow me on TikTok, Tumblr, and Instagram under the handle rachaellawrites. Thanks for reading!

--

--

Rachael Arsenault

Rachael Arsenault is a Canadian author from Prince Edward Island. She is a hippie at heart, a D&D nerd, and a pun enthusiast.