Image by Rachel Smith www.eye-think.co.uk

40 days on the Camino de Santiago

Rachel Smith
7 min readAug 25, 2018

What follows is a series of largely unedited journal extracts from my time walking the Camino de Santiago. I want you to witness the conversation that I had as the journey unfolded. Maybe you’ll also see how a collection of thoughts can build a story. And maybe, just maybe you’ll want to go on a journey too.

Day -1 Biarritz

“There’ll be a lot of unknown that I am ready to open myself up to.”

Day 0 St Jean Pied de Port

“I’m afraid I’ll run away when I sense the resistance.”

Day 1 Roncevalles

“The walk today brought up all sorts of things; joy, contentment, frustration, tiredness, anger and love. I want to go home and not do this right now.”

Day 2 Zubiri

“I said I was angry that everyone was wearing shells on their packs without knowing why. Maybe I don’t really see myself as a pilgrim yet. Maybe I don’t know what a pilgrim is yet.”

Day 3 Pamplona

“Today I felt like I was connecting the dots in Spain by walking across it. Those dots are also the ones in my life as I begin to observe it.”

Day 4 Puente De La Reina

“Why am I walking? Why am I enduring this suffering, the repetition, the routine, the tedium? What

--

--

Rachel Smith

Visual thinking strategist, coach and facilitator, illustrator and deliberate journeyer www.eye-think.co.uk