Discipline And The Art Of Liver Shrinking

What I learned about motivation and self-discipline from two weeks on a medically prescribed liver-shrinking diet.

Rachel Nixon
7 min readJan 18, 2020
Bowl of cereal near white pitcher and small bowls of fresh fruit
Photo by Cleanlight Photo on Unsplash

I’ve been on a liver-shrinking diet for two weeks and tomorrow I’m having my gallbladder removed. While naturally I’m nervous about the operation, I’m also excited as it signals the end of more than two years of acute attacks of abdominal pain (usually in the middle of the night) and consequent broken sleep. That’s no fun for anyone, let alone a self-employed, control freak business owner.

The reason I’ve been put on a liver-shrinking diet is to make my (slightly fatty) liver smaller and smoother in preparation for the gallbladder to be sliced cleanly away.

My friends and family have been very interested in the mechanics of the diet — and our discussions have been illuminating on their (and my) assumptions and preconceptions about dieting, health and wellness.

What’s more interesting to me though is how it’s made me feel over the two weeks of drastic calorie restriction, no sugar, no alcohol and very little fat, and a newfound appreciation and understanding of my capacity for self-discipline.

I’ve been running my business for eight years, in a profession that requires focus and…

--

--

Rachel Nixon

Proofreader, small business owner, film-watcher and badass. You can find out more about what I do at: accuracymatters.co.uk