Seriously, Cover Your Ankles! Plus 7 More Tips For Cold Weather Wellness.

Really Easy-To-Implement-Type Stuff

Rachel Brumberger, L.Ac.
5 min readJan 23, 2019
Photo by Jakob Owens on Unsplash

Last October, I was dropping my daughter off at school, I was wearing a sweater with large crochet holes and a vest. I felt the cold air of the morning pierce my skin with the breeze. I got her settled in and she wanted to take off her top layer sweater. “No,” I told her. Tears followed and I explained that it was a cold day, we have a family wedding coming in a few days, and that we need to take extra care of our bodies this week in the chilly weather so we don’t get sick. She calmed down, seemingly satisfied with my explanation.

Walking to my car, I saw bare necks in the breeze and naked ankles and felt my cold arms again. I got into the car and noticed the muscles in my back had tightened up. I remembered a post that originally made quite a splash with my community when I had first written it. I’ve made a few updates over time.

While it was originally written in the deep of winter, the same tips apply for chilly autumn days. Here it is:

As a Chinese Medicine practitioner, I am a bit obsessed with keeping people from getting too cold. I admit it. I’m like the cold police. This means that despite my husband’s strong pleas that I stop concerning myself with his winter weather gear I still went searching high and low for the scarf and hat he was most likely to wear in below-freezing temperatures — just in case. He rolled his eyes when I brought the shopping bag home. It sat on the arm of the kitchen chair for two weeks. Then finally, vindicated! As a snowstorm approached, he tried them on, even liked them, and even used them!

But I digress…

The point is, the cold is no joke.

Frankly, if it’s below 60 degrees I think you should have socks on.

I love the winter, I’m no longer a person who hates it. I find it refreshing and a great excuse for taking things slower. And, when I have to be out and about I like to take care so that my body will make it through OK.

When I’m out in public in the cold, looking around, I totally make judgments (yes, this is embarrassing to put out here in writing). I make judgments about everyone not properly dressed for the weather. Then I realize I’m being an ass and I find my compassion — maybe they were running late? Maybe the kid threw a fit about wearing pants today? Maybe they are hot all the time? Maybe they just don’t know?

So here are the things I wish for everyone to know. These are the things that may save you from arthritis later in your life. They might help you with your future or current fertility. These might help keep you from getting sick this season (or sick again!). They might help you rest better and triumph over your future Spring allergies.

  1. Do not leave the house with wet hair. Plan ahead folks; no one needs icicles in their hair. Use a blow dryer, wash your hair the day or night before… just do what you need to do to have dry hair before you go out into sub-zero temps (or really anything below 60 degrees farenheight).
  2. Cover your ankles. WTF? Why are you wearing cropped pants when it’s 10 degrees or even 40 degrees? Yes, they are cute and hip. Is it worth the chapped skin, though? No. Not to mention all of the other health stuff I mentioned above. If you must wear shorter pants in winter, wear them with boots or at least cover up when commuting. You can change into more sexy shoes inside.
  3. Wear socks. This one I really cannot understand… see above. Bare skin when it’s freezing or just above? Frankly, if it’s below 60 degrees I think you should have socks on. So, socks, tights, stockings, whatever. There should be no bare feet in those ballet flats.
  4. Scarves for everyone. Our necks are particularly susceptible to the cold and wind entering the body. This can make us vulnerable to colds/flu; aches and pains in the face, neck or shoulders; balance issues; headaches; and more. Best to protect this part of you with a scarf. Wrap it well so that the back and front of your neck and top of your chest have an added layer of protection.
  5. Zip up. This can be hard when we’re rushing; and it’s worth taking the time to zip up your coat or button. Protect your belly and your reproductive zone from the same cold and wind I mention above re scarves. Cold abdomens can make us vulnerable to getting sick in general. Cold bellies can make it hard to poop easily, digest our food well, manage our energy, and can even mess with our reproductive capacities. The same goes for our low backs; hence, choosing a coat that covers your waist and hips is a good idea. Short coats do not protect some of these zones as well as longer ones.
  6. Layers for every day. I’m a fan of a good undershirt or camisole to stay close to the skin and keep the cold from getting to you. Not just outside but in cold workspaces inside as well. I’m also a huge fan of long underwear which can keep you warm as needed and should not overheat you when you’re inside. This helps keep us a bit insulated and experiencing less ups and downs with the drafts, the changing temperatures, and the wind.
  7. Choose warm drinks. As much as I like a good iced latte myself, no matter how much I am craving it I choose something warm when the weather dips. Especially if you’re planning to walk with it outside and sip while waiting for the train. I’m not gonna pretend I haven't been judging all those iced-latte to-go cups I keep seeing on cold days. Adding cold into your belly makes your body work harder to warm you up. Over time this can be exhaustive, like turning the heat up and down too often on your thermostat. This warm not cold concept goes for your water bottle and your coffee/tea mugs.
  8. Warm-up back at home. Try a warm bath or a heating pad; hot water bottles are also a marvel! Wear socks or slippers in the house to stave off the cold in general, drink warm liquids like tea often; eat soup.

If you’re an athlete who is taking to the great outdoors in winter, it’s good to pay attention to all of this too, and modify with your gear in order to keep things on the up and up. Basically, protect yourself from the weather. And when you come back in, go for a room temperature water refresh — skip that ice.

Trust me, your 72-year-old self is going to thank me.

Still can’t get warm? We acupuncturists have some great tricks up our sleeves to get the cold out of your body.

Originally published at http://thirdspacewellness.com on January 23, 2019.

--

--

Rachel Brumberger, L.Ac.

Lover of steak, cake and conversation — together or separate. I help people find their flow and heal their stuff. rachelbrumberger.com