Red Butterfly

Flaw by definition is a mark, fault, or other imperfection that mars a substance or object.

Rachel Ecker
4 min readNov 19, 2015

I think flaws are so odd. The entire concept of a flaw is something that differentiates a person from everyone else. Who decided that being different was a bad thing? Differences should be celebrated just like we are celebrated for getting good marks. They are part of our bodies just like our brain and just like everything else. But instead of learning how to embrace those differences we are taught to hide them or fix them. There are products like wrinkle corrector or hair dye which are produced to change how someone looks to be someone they were years before or someone they want to be. Wanting to feel good about how you look is not a bad thing and if using these products to achieve that appearance helps, do it. I can’t help but wonder what our world would be like if those products didn’t exist. Would people be happier? Would we even notice our “flaws”?

I’ve had an unusual red birthmark on my chest for my entire life. My mother would always call it my butterfly which always made me feel like it was beautiful. Before I started kindergarten I never gave it a second thought. My birthmark was just part of my body and my skin. Once I started school my classmates would point it out and ask me “is that blood?” or “is that marker?” or “I think you scraped yourself.” Every time someone would bring it up I would become more and more ashamed of it. I started only wearing shirts that went just below my neck so my ruby red birthmark would be hidden. I was scared of people seeing it and what they would think. I remember when I would first encounter someone their eyes would travel from my birthmark to my face. I got tired of seeing people’s judgment or confusion. From Jk to grade 6 I kept it hidden. One day in grade 6 I got a shirt that went below my birthmark and I was so afraid of wearing it even though I really did want to wear it. I decided I needed to wear it for myself and no one else. I made that promise to myself. I wore the shirt and a huge sweater over top, which does defeat the purpose of the shirt. But I had the reassurance of it.

Slowly I started wearing lower cut shirts. I notice as I get older the reactions to my birthmark are different. Many people ask “is that a birthmark?” and I respond with “yes it is.” I always feel a bit of anxiety building up in these moments but more frequently the response is “Oh. That’s so cool!”

First ever design

My very first design is inspired by my birthmark. It’s bright red because I think red symbolizes strength and power. This dress showcases both mindsets when dealing with our differences. It demonstrates whether a person is going to present their individual features to the world or if they will hide them. The top half is bold and has a rich red colour. The curled structures coming off the dress represents each person’s specific characteristics. The top half demonstrates confidence and openness. In contrast the bottom half demonstrates the opposite. The slip underneath is the same vibrant red colour as the top but is covered by a transparent layer. The layer reduces the red’s radiant colour. This represents insecurity towards our individual distinct differences.

Many people believe that red birthmarks are kisses from angels. I don’t know if I believe that. But I do believe that the separateness of every person’s body is a gift. It’s an opportunity for different experiences and challenges to over come.

“I always find beauty in things that are odd & imperfect — they are much more interesting.” ~ Marc Jacobs

--

--