How Human Connection Saved My Life

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.
9 min readMay 19, 2022

And the science of how connection heals chronic stress, depression, and anxiety.

In April I attended a 21-day “nervous system reset retreat” after a massive mental health breakdown in February which almost resulted in ending my life.

I’ve been in and out of therapy for 18 years for an eating disorder, depression, anxiety, trauma, grief/loss, couples therapy, post-divorce therapy…the list goes on.

My master’s education is also in mental health counseling, so to say I basically live and breathe all things psychology and the human condition is an understatement.

When I started looking for help in February, it felt like a hail mary.

I felt hopeless, discouraged, and like a failure. How could I know so much about psychology, yet feel so helpless to change these patterns and prevent these rock-bottoms?

Though I tried to find an intensive outpatient program in the states to attend post-breakdown, my insurance covered nothing, and to pay out of pocket would have put me in more debt than most college students (thanks government!)

After tapping into my intuition, asking myself what I believed was truly in my best interest based on my history, and a little looking outside the box, I stumbled upon a nervous system reset program.

--

--

Rachel Havekost, M.Sc.

Author / Speaker. Destigmatizing mental health with radical transparency. Hoping to meet you in the deep end. Author of bestseller “Where the River Flows.”