Alone in a Crowded [Class]Room

Mrs. Jenkinson
2 min readJun 19, 2020

--

Image by Wokandapix from Pixabay

Teaching is a profession filled with such joy and light. Everyday we get to watch the lightbulbs go off and concepts ‘click’ for the first time. We witness immense growth, and incredible feats. The majority of my day is filled with laughter and happiness and for that I am so grateful.

While taking my final senior seminar of undergrad we were told time and time again to find “our people”. My professor stressed that we would need someone to talk to and that a spouse or significant other wouldn’t cut it.

At the time I was student teaching in a kindergarten classroom. Looking back, student teaching was such a wonderful environment. I got my fill of teaching and interaction with students, but I also had another adult in the room. Someone to share a laugh with or a knowing look when a student says the funniest thing.

I currently teach first grade in a small, private K-8 school. We don’t have paras, specialized staff or grade level teams. I rarely have another adult in my room. It can be lonely. I started to realize that unloading my day onto my spouse wasn’t cutting it (funny how that works). And as a new teacher I didn’t have “people” right away, but I quickly saw the need. A five minute chat in the hallway or copy room felt like a treat, and conversation at lunch with the teachers on my floor was something I looked forward to.

“Talking is regarded as the most effective means of looking after your own mental health.”

You might think that teachers talk all day, in fact it is their job to talk all day. And while that is certainly the case, The Teaching Mirror describes it best:

“Teachers are celebrities, just without their own luxury brand, talk shows, and a sweet Bugatti Veyron. But we do have the fame — kind of. Students are our audience and our paparazzi. But despite the hours of teaching and conversing with dozens of different students every day, teaching feels lonely.”

So, how can we beat the loneliness and look after our mental health? David Webb offers several tips on how to combat teacher loneliness. His first tip:

“Connect with colleagues as often as you can.”

Before school, after school, during lunch and definitely during recess. I know we all have to get those copies made before the next lesson or run to the bathroom because you haven’t gone ALL DAY. But, when we do have a second to chat or just exchange looks of disbelief and bewilderment, I encourage you to do so. I know I’m taking every chance I get to talk to my fellow celebrities.

--

--

Mrs. Jenkinson
0 Followers

Hello all! First grade teacher here!👋🏻 **All ideas and opinions on this blog are my own and do not necessarily represent those of my employer.