Rachel B.
3 min readMar 10, 2019

--

Live Like You Were Dying?

I don’t think you can.

About 6 years ago, I thought I was going to die.

I have dealt with health issues for a long time, but I never thought I would die incredibly young because of them. Until I started having mystery symptoms- nothing that doctors could explain. They couldn’t seem to stop it. With no definite diagnosis, there was nothing to be done. I was wasting away. I was scared. I had four children and I thought I was going to leave them motherless.

I started to think about all the movies and songs that exist about what you would do if you only had a little while left to live. I had also read articles about how to live every day as if it were your last.

I decided I needed to “get my affairs in order”. For me that meant writing down all my account numbers, passwords, and instructions on how to tie up loose ends. I didn’t own any large assets and my husband and children would be left all of my small possessions to keep or distribute as they wished. I never wrote a legal will, and I’ve since been told that’s a bad thing, but at the time I saw no point as nothing I owned had monetary value.

I also reorganized and renamed all the files in my computer, in case anyone wanted to wade through my photographs or documents. I talked to a friend about making calls to let others know about my passing.

--

--