Week of 27 Sep — 3 Oct Blog

Rachel Li
2 min readOct 2, 2021

--

What did you do this past week?

I worked a ton with my group members to crank out the frontend of our project. It’s a lot of work that’s for sure so I’m really grateful towards my group members for being so accountable and easy to work with! They’re awesome. We also had our meeting with Caitlin on Thursday to talk about what each of us did. Other than that, a lot of Zoom meetings for working on the project and tons of open tabs for React.

What’s in your way?

I think what’s in my way is my inexperience in React. My technique for making progress is just slapping together code from the Material-UI documentation and making tweaks using Stack Overflow posts or other websites.

What will you do next week?

I will probably squeeze out the rest of what we need to do for our project in the beginning of the week. We still need to write our user stories. We also have to finish the instance pages. The latter part of the week will probably be getting started on phase 2 because I wish we had started earlier on phase 1.

If you read it, what did you think of the Paper #6: Single Responsibility Principle?

I only skimmed through it. At first, I thought it would be talking about the importance of being responsible for a group project but I realize that it’s nothing like that. I’ll read through it more thoroughly after I post this blog.

What was your experience of factorial, reduce, and operators? (this question will vary, week to week)

I didn’t have any experience using reduce before and it was a little difficult for me to understand how to read the function calls for reduce. Operators in Python are so different, throughout lecture I constantly saw uses of operators that look like they shouldn’t work but do. As for factorial, I think I’m pretty familiar with it because I’ve learned about how to solve it in 314 (in Java).

What made you happy this week?

I was happy that it rained this week! It was a nice thunderstorm and I felt so cozy in my room while it was storming outside. I also came back home to San Antonio for the weekend.

What’s your pick-of-the-week or tip-of-the-week?

Tip-of-the-week: Shoutout to my group member, Adeet, because he introduced me to a nice extension on VSCode called Live Sharing which allows you to work with multiple people on a project. The way he described it was GoogleDocs for coding. We used it a lot for our project.

--

--