Living Faith: Why You have to Die before You can Live

Rachel Miller
5 min readJan 10, 2018
Photo Source: pablo.buffer.com

I don’t know about you, but I want my faith to be real. I want a faith that magnifies God through my life. We make much ado about Christians whose lives reveal the faithfulness and power of God. Impossible odds overcome. Finances supplied in the moment of need. Protection in dire circumstances. We look at these stories and we say, “Wow! Isn’t God amazing.” It boosts our spirits and encourages us. But do we ever dare to hope God’s power might be seen in and through our own lives? And if we dare to hope it, do we step toward it?

Living Faith that Magnifies God:

Requires Beginning Steps

I love to grab a camera and head out for an afternoon of hiking and exploring. I live within driving distance of both mountains and prairies. The landscape is breathtaking. But it doesn’t matter how much I love it. No matter how much I want to see what awaits me — I won’t get there if I never take the first step.

This seems elementary, but when it comes to faith many of us never get this. We want God to magnify Himself in our lives, but we want it to happen sort of magically. Or maybe I should say miraculously. We want a million dollars out of the sky when we haven’t picked up our Bible in a month. This isn’t the way God works.

--

--

Rachel Miller

Montana girl, auntie of ten, author of five books. Visit me at www.rachelmillerwriter.com where I write about the writing journey and fruitful Christian living.