A Personal Letter to My Freshman Roommate

Rachel Yelk
3 min readMar 15, 2016

--

Dear Rando-Roomie who turned into my other half,

Living life in a 10 x15 ft space with you was the best thing that has ever happened since the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack came out. Saying I love and miss you, does not even come close to how much I really do love and miss you!

There’s not a day that passes by without me wishing we were still living together, goofing around, causing scenes in public, or just spooning the freaking spoon out of each other. And as the days go by without us living together, there’s more and more things I miss, and more and more things I realized I never thanked you for.

So here it is Kendra,

Thank you for being my right hand. Whether I wanted to tell you about my day, a pointless story, an incomplete sentence with jumbled words, or just a nod of the head followed by one word, you were always ready to listen. Not only did you listen, but you laughed, yelled (sarcastically), and you were never afraid to be real with me.

Thank you for all of the incredibly stupid inside jokes. Just when I think they can’t get any dumber (or funnier), we come up with another. They might have been stupid, especially the ones in Geography “aka geology”, but thank you for always cracking a yoke and making me quack.

Thank you for cooperating with my Yeti-self. I know at some points you would get frustrated or upset with me for being a straight up Yeti, but you were so patient and got to understand my true yeti nature.

Thank you for being my role model. You are without a doubt my role model, making the life change you made was courageous. Finding out what you want to do in life and actually proceeding on to fulfill the goals you vision is very challenging. Backing out of UWO was the first step toward the future you had in mind, I am so proud of you for taking that giant step out and reaching your goals.

Thank you for partying with me on M, T, W, TH, F, SAT, NAT & SUN. Living with you was a party every single day, especially on those Naturdays. I’ll never forget all the scenes we caused together; holding hands in public just because we freaking loved each other so much, sometimes just yelling at each other, singing and dancing together while walking to class, or just running to hug each other when we spotted each other on campus.

Thank you for dealing with my messiness and parmesan toes. I think that one is self explanatory, but still god bless.

Thank you for being my main chick. Thanks for the times you went with me to Bhawk, the convenient store, Lou’s Brew, or anywhere I wanted to go at any time. Thanks for being my Orville Redenbacher meteorologist, lab partner, literal A1 since day one, and most importantly my best friend.

Thank you Mark and Emily.

“Trying to live without your love is one long sleepless night,

Let me show you, girl, that I know wrong from right

Every street you walk on, I leave tear stains on the ground

Following the girl I didn’t even want around” — Jackson 5

I WANT YOU BACK!

Love, Bagel Booski

--

--