How did ArtingAbout SW16/SW17 begin?

Arting About
2 min readMay 19, 2017

--

I’ve had a full time job for quite a few years now. It’s long hours & terrible pay but the perks are great. Motherhood! Much as I love it, I had become stuck in a rut, but whenever I looked for #workthatworks there was nothing to be found. It was either full time & never see my family, or part time, bad pay, no joy.

So when I found out about the DigitalMumsHQ social media management course, I applied. And now here I am (11 weeks later) writing my first blog post, knee deep in apps, platforms, analytics & handy time management tools. I couldn’t be happier!

The best thing about the course is that we choose & launch a campaign (food, education, wellbeing, community, or art in my case) that enables us to put into practice everything we’re learning about social media ‘on the job’. Genius really.

I knew I wanted to run an Arts Campaign. Art is something I enjoy. I love the way it brings folks together & there are so many different ways to be creative, whatever your age. From the simplest doodle to a full blown oil painting.

Arting About SW16/SW17 aims to encourage you to try something creative, possibly for the first time. By setting weekly art challenges (see below for examples), I hope to inspire you all to take part. And post a photo of your finished work. #becreative #beproud

  • 5 minutes self portrait
  • do-a-doodle
  • upload pic of your favourite work by your favourite artist
  • photo of your favourite album cover
  • art activity at home with your kids
  • colour in a free colouring sheet download

I’ll also tell you about great artists who live locally, where they’re exhibiting & what inspires them.

Finally, there will be news of local workshops/classes, happenings & general support for all things Tooting & Streatham.

I hope you enjoy the ride. Thanks for watching.

Rachel

https://www.facebook.com/artingaboutSW16SW17/

--

--

Arting About

R A C H E L H U S B A N D : Social Media Manager for Creatives & Small Businesses🎈Arts Blogger🎈 Cheese Fanatic.