Juneteenth

Rach
2 min readJun 20, 2022

A lil bit of Freedom …

T-shirt designed by a BLACK OWNED BUSINESS — ATXCRAFT on Etsy. Worn by Rach

Now that Juneteenth is recognized as a “federal holiday” I think we are all asking ourselves how to celebrate it?!

Learning about my history is very important to me so y’all know I researched it.

The first thing I did was find a black owned company to buy my Juneteenth shirt from. Shout out to a company I found via Etsy called ATXCraft based out of Austin, Texas. Support them and get your Juneteenth gear!

I think the most important thing about Juneteenth is to study the history behind it. How can we celebrate something and don’t know why we celebrate it? I’m not going to share the history here. You do the work and find out the reason…

Next, get together with your loved ones and eat some food. Yes I love soul food so that’s what I’m having with my family. Eat, Drink, and turn up. We aren’t all the way there yet but we’ve come a mighty long way.

Make some crafts! Especially if you have little ones around. I am an auntie of 3 boys so it’s critical that they know where they came from. I can teach their history through art. There are ideas on Pinterest and other blogs about flags and other crafts you can make to celebrate this special day.

SUPPORT A BLACK OWNED BUSINESS

--

--