Why Toilet Paper?

Rada Jones MD MBA
5 min readMar 16, 2020

I roll in my bed, unable to sleep. I listen to BBC talk about the craziness that took over the world, preoccupied with this one question. What question? It’s not: “Why Corona?” For that, I already have more answers than I want.

Scientists say that COVID19 is an animal virus. It spread to humans from bats or pangolin due to close proximity in a seafood market, much like its older siblings SARS and MERS. Some well- informed people on Facebook told me that COVID19 is biological warfare sent by the Chinese to bring down the US. My Trump supporter friends think it’s all a hoax invented by the Democrats and perpetuated by the media. Others think it’s a virus sent by Gaia to save the Earth to stop overpopulation, global warming, and overconsumption.

It’s not: “What’s going to happen?”

Better minds than mine have tackled the issue. They predicted the virus will peak, then stick around to join the other viruses plaguing us every winter: Flu A, B, and others I won’t get into. Other bright minds completely disagree.

Nothing to do with the markets. They already fell into disrepair, and they’ll take years to recover. Recover they will, eventually. It’s all good unless you need your money now. But, since you can’t go anywhere, can’t meet anyone, and can’t buy anything, you should be safe.

--

--

Rada Jones MD MBA

Emergency Physician. Writer. Explorer. Writing to make the world a better place. RadaJonesMD.com. Author of OVERDOSE, MERCY and POISON, all ER thrillers.