52 Fridays Experiment: Week 1 — Meditation

Joy Magnet
2 min readJan 24, 2023

--

The 52 Fridays Experiment is off to the races. As a reminder, every week in 2023, I’m going to explore an activity to help me live in the spirit of fun and adventure.

This week’s category: Personal Development.

What I did: Justin Michael William’s 40 Days to Transformation

Was it worth it? Short answer, yes! More details below.

What’s great about this activity: This 40-Day program is all about discovering your vision for your future self and taking small steps to get there. Every day starts out with an audio-guided 13-minute meditation and a fill-in-the-blank Mad Libs-style journal entry. That’s one of the many reasons I love this program: it’s really easy to fit into your busy schedule.

Justin Michael Williams is also an amazing human being. Listening to his voice every day is so healing and empowering!

The download: Ok, so before we jump in here, I feel that I need to disclose that I am shameless personal development Nerd. I’ve led full moon circles, completed a Health Coaching Certification, healed my inner child, breathworked with the best of them, and even had a spirit guides reading by a psychic medium. So here we are, now you know everything…

All that being said, when I signed up for this program, I was expecting I would do a few meditations and it would be a fun little thing to do to kick off this year.

But going deep into these visualizations even in Week 1, I discovered something profound about my future self. I don’t need to win any awards, start multiple businesses, or receive any external validation to be happy.

The true feeling I most desire in this life is freedom. There is true peace in knowing that the feeling of freedom can come from many places. I can take the pressure off myself and stop rushing to get “there.” Instead, I can start thinking: what is one action that I can take today that will get me closer to that feeling? Ooooh I just got the chills!

.

Next up on 52 Fridays, I will be pursuing Home Improvement Projects. Check back here to continue riding along on my experiment. Keep shining, friends!

--

--

Joy Magnet

Writer, creator, building a radiant, juicy life, one day at a time.