52 Fridays Experiment: Week 4 & 5

Joy Magnet
3 min readMar 7, 2023

--

In this edition of 52 Fridays, we take a break from our regular formatting because I was traveling in Europe for 10 days. When you travel, every day is like a 52 Friday since you are constantly out of your comfort zone, sleeping in different beds, hearing other languages, trying new foods. A true adventurer’s paradise.

On the last Friday in January, I traveled to Nuremberg, Germany for a work trip. Yes, it was cold. (Forgetting my gloves at home was a teachable lesson). BUT it was so nice to be out of the country and exploring a new place that the cold almost didn’t matter.

My favorite experience in Germany happened in our first couple days. After a long work day, I was researching online for a good place to have dinner and found Steiner’s! It was a bit off the beaten path, but we were so happy we made the trek once we realized it was a favorite spot for locals. So of course, we had to try the schnitzel! It was a good reminder to always take the time to explore the non-touristy areas of the city.

On the way back from our work trip to Germany, my friend and I decided to stop in Paris for the weekend so that’s where I spent my 5th Friday of the year. We were so exhausted from the work portion of our trip, but we were determined made the most of it! So on Friday we had a marathon day of walking, eating, and shopping our way through St. Germain and Champs Elysees.

One new thing I pushed myself to do on Friday was to try escargot for the first time! Not gonna lie, I’m a picky eater sometimes, but when I go to new places, I always want to be adventurous and try the local cuisine. To my surprise, I actually loved snails!!

After dinner we stopped to take a picture with the glittering Eiffel tower, and then mosied over to Bar Hemingway at the Ritz where we closed out the night.

As my first trip of the year, it was equal parts tiring and exciting, plus I missed my puppy (and my husband, I guess :)). But again, traveling is always worth it.

And if you haven’t heard enough travel stories, tune in for my next post because we are heading to Miami!! Thanks for following along on my 52 Fridays experiment. I hope you’re inspired to get out there, get wild, and squeeze every drop our of this beautiful life, because you deserve adventure!

--

--

Joy Magnet

Writer, creator, building a radiant, juicy life, one day at a time.