DEVOTION

Joy Magnet
2 min readJan 10, 2023

--

Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

I am devoted.

That is my mantra for 2023, after completing my journal prompts for the new year.

What does it look like? To be devoted?

I celebrate my friends, cherishing their wins and showing up with my whole being.

I provide for my family, choosing work that lifts me up so that I can be emotionally present after work. Providing goes beyond my day job.

I respect my boundaries, knowing them and feeling them when they come up, and making them known to others as swiftly and kindly as possible.

I take hold of the opportunities that come to me with an open heart and mind. I live in the moment but plan for the future.

I listen to my body and seek to understand what I need on a daily, weekly, monthly basis and give freely to myself to satisfy those needs.

I follow through. When I make a promise to myself, I keep it.

Part of my devotion is to writing on this platform this year. It’s tough to fit in the writing time, to get quiet enough to get these words down on a page. But even if the words don’t come all the time, in the right order, or grammatically correct, here I will be all year, devoted to you.

What does devotion mean to you?

--

--

Joy Magnet

Writer, creator, building a radiant, juicy life, one day at a time.