PPL/Software Engineering Project — #1

Robertus Aditya Sukoco
2 min readMar 9, 2023

--

As one of the developers for the LIDAR app, I still feel like the first week is still filled with confusion due to my lack of skills and knowledge in Swift. I don’t have a MacBook myself so I can’t really start developing the iOS app. The client, who said that they will lend the MacBook and iPhone hasn’t given it to us (no offense to the client, of course). So, I decided to start working on the web application instead in order for the development to continue moving forward.

As a product owner of the LIDAR app, I haven’t quite touched the PBI again, although I’m planning to make any improvements or additions, especially if the client requests it. But for now, the PBI hasn’t been touched since the last time me and the whole team created it for the first time.

But overall, here are the things that I learned so far:

  1. Doing stand up meetings. In real world, many developer teams have started using Scrum as their workflow. Which means, it’s important to experience and get familiar with stand up meetings. Although, in PPL/Software Engineering Project, we only do it twice a week (in real world, you do it once a day), I’m able to grasp the idea of how daily stand up meetings are done.
  2. The requirement gathering experience. This project basically isn’t a whole new project. However, there are so many new features to be implemented, in which, most of the feature ideas were founded by the team. I have taught myself to think of the future creatively by trying to think what the application will look like when it’s ready for production and discuss it with the other teammates.

--

--

Robertus Aditya Sukoco

A computer science student who's hoping his future will go well in the midst of this "Tech Layoff" wave (pray for me pls 🙏).