#40DaysOfActivism

Rae Krantz
3 min readNov 10, 2020

--

alt text: seedlings growing in soil (Photo by Francesco Gallarotti on Unsplash)

I don’t do enough to help my community. I do “big things” every so often that make me feel like I’m not part of the problem. I’ve canvassed and protested and phone banked and donated and signed petitions. I help!

But what about a daily practice of always pushing for change? I’ve got a job and kids and a never-clean house, so activism is usually a “thing” that I do on occasion or a weekend one-off, rather than a way of life.

#40DaysOfActivism is me holding myself accountable. And honestly, hoping other folks join in with me so we can encourage each other to keep up the daily pace. Some days might be 10 minutes; some days might be 10 hours. As long as I’m always doing something.

40 days isn’t long enough for lasting change, of course; duh. It’s meant to set the foundation and give me the start to continual, lasting forward movement. It’s enough to form relationships with people in my community; it’s enough to join a local movement or two that I regularly engage with; it’s enough to learn about a bill that really needs to pass my State’s Senate and galvanize me to see it through.

Off the top of my head, things that could be part of this daily practice:

  • Email/call a local representative of mine, at any level, and start a relationship; ask what they’re working on, what they need help with, and if applicable, how to make public comment in favor of or against legislation they’re proposing
  • Learn what “public comment” is and how and where it can be used
  • Set up a recurring donation to a community-focused org in my city/county
  • Look up the city/county council for my area and put their public meetings on my calendar
  • Read about bills coming up for votes in my state’s legislature
  • Ask the ACLU chapter near me what working groups are active
  • Pick a local news org and write a letter to the editor about a cause that I’m passionate about
  • Educate myself on how a national issue impacts my community specifically, and seek out folks/orgs/reps who are actively working on the problem (i.e. cash bail, punishing people who can’t afford fines, housing access, zoning, police budgets, voting districts, — an endless list)
  • Reach out to civic orgs and ask how I can join or support
  • Call my federal house rep/senator about a national issue that is important to me

This list is not exhaustive. I’m literally sitting on my couch, trying to post this so I can get back to that job that I have overdue work for, and just spitballing. And it doesn’t even address overarching themes like how we should make sure our resources are devoted to people who actually reflect our communities and those who are historically and presently under-served and underrepresented in them. I’m not trying to convince myself I’ve got all the right answers figured out. I’m trying to push myself to do more.

It’s meant to be the start. As I progress, I’ll stop casting such a wide net and dive deep with the issues and orgs and reps and local movements that I know can benefit the most from my added energy .

And my goal is that the 40 Days becomes 400. I’ve got to start somewhere.

--

--

Rae Krantz

Born in the South, made in the Rust Belt, living in the home of over half of Fortune 500 companies aka Delaware