What would I say to myself ten years younger

Rafael Faita
Javarevisited
Published in
4 min readNov 13, 2020

--

Context

The idea of this post began when a junior developer friend come to me and ask: “Hey Faita, what would you suggest to me (a junior developer) focus my studies?”

Also, I completed ten years of a career in the development area, and I started thinking about what I would like to say if I could back in time and talk to myself younger. I have some important tips and advice to talk about.

Some of the tips and advice could sound a little stupid, but let’s begin.

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

Stop losing time

First of all, stop losing time, your time is a precious resource, and spend it on poor intellectual tasks will not make you a better professional. Even further, stop thinking you already learned enough about development and architecture. Open your mind to new things and be like a “sponge”, and try to absorb everything you can, even things that you think you never will gonna use.

This advice is one of the most obvious, but believe me, it is one of the hardest to put into action, and at many times, you will catch yourself forgetting about it.

Focus on just one on a unique language/framework

Like the first point, this second one sounds very obvious, but as beginners, we…

--

--