Rs. 1 Crore - the 'Meaning' and the 'Means’!

Rahul Rajput
2 min readSep 10, 2021

--

There are two types of people in India -
1) Who have tried getting into KBC (Kon Banega Crorepati) by calling in audience question atleast once
2) Those who have never tried
I must confess, I belong to the 1st type! What type do you belong to?

Whenever I hear "Chaliye shuru kerte hai aap ke sath, Kon banega Crorepati!" (Let’s start the Game of KBC with you!) in Amitji’s voice, I feel so nostalgic. We have grown up watching KBC, getting hooked to our TV sets, competing with family members to guess which is the right answer, patting our own back when we get the answer right!

KBC introduced us to this number - '1 Crore'. And gave rise to the ever running joke, 'Want to win 1 Crore? Do you even know how many Zeros are there in 1 Crore?' There was a time I didn't knew that too, I know now - 7 Zeros. (Trying to stop my Corporate mind from thinking Game winnings are taxed at 30% Tax Bracket). Whatever that may be, 1 Crore is a big number!!

When I was kid, I also remember thinking that if everyone just gave me 1 Rs and I collect 1 Rs from 1 Crore people, I will have 1 Crore Rs!! This is simple, correct yet such a CRAZY sounding maths! That's the power of large base or Multiplier.

Recently we all might have seen this becoming reality with 'Crowdfunding' and 'Donation', albeit for a 'Cause'! From raising funds for someone's health treatment to sending someone deserving to their higher studies - platforms like ketto.org, milaap.org have made this possible! Any help provided small or big at the need of the hour is immensely valuable. It is such a humane thing to help those in needs with whatever is possible for you!

That is why I love technology! Your campaign can reach so many people, people can instantly send money and contribute to the cause (Thanks to UPI pay and no hassle of Bank Accounts/Beneficiary approval), You can see live how much money is raised , how many days the campaign will be live and so on.

A quote which is best suited for the times we are currently in :
"
CROWDFUNDING ISN'T ABOUT
COLLECTING MONEY. IT'S
ABOUT MAKING SOMETHING
HAPPEN WITH A CROWD OF
PEOPLE WHO BELIEVE IN
SOMETHING.

NORMAL PEOPLE, NOT RICH
PEOPLE WITH A LOT OF
POWER, JUST PEOPLE LIKE
YOU AND ME.

-JOZEFIEN DAELEMANS
"

Take care! Be safe!

--

--