Raina (Ranjeeta) Schulz
3 min readFeb 2, 2018

Taking care of these big NFL bodies

Just as I do my job every day, I wake up excited….Today I get to interview and talk to the one and only Hilary Patzer, (Jada Studio), licensed Acupuncturist for several national level pro-sports teams. Hilary has taken care of many many pro-athletes and has some fantastic stories to share. Her knowledge and experience are in-depth, and so I am very excited about the interview…..What is she going to say? What am I going to learn today, that I can share with Trailhead Health Followers?

The most significant question on my mind, of course, how does the NFL use these therapies? How are treatments such as Acupuncture, Cupping, Fascial Stretch Therapy, Neurokinetic and Cranial Sacral, incorporated?

I walked into her beautiful studio, and there she is …Quietly reading notes from her computer. Looking so beautiful, serene and poised. She looks up and gives me a warm and welcoming smile. She then walks over to me, and we hug and then she doesn’t waste any time. We should jump right in, she says, and we do.

I start the interview, and the conversation flows effortlessly. Hilary is well prepared and knows so much! As I look back I can honestly say, it was an amazing interview and I am excited to release it soon.

But one thing she shared in the interview, just keeps going over and over in my mind and I feel compelled to share. I mention to her I checked out all the fantastic testimonials pro-players like Stefon Digs, Adrian Peterson, Everson Griffen, Justin Morneau, Ryan Suter and Kyle Rudolph have written for her….

They have said things like Hilary gets my drive and helps me push my body to its limits. She understands the pressure we put on our bodies. Every time we come to her she helps us recover faster and gets us ready for even more. That’s amazing, right?

Since we are in the midst of NFL season I feel compelled to ask her, does NFL pay for your services?

I ask her, “I know you follow these players, during the season and you take care of them, but who pays for your services?”.

She says, “Well, its a mix.”

I ask, “A mix?….Hmmm…. what do you mean?”

Hilary says “If a player is injured, all of my acupuncture treatments are paid for by the NFL. If a player is not injured, then they have to come to my studio and have to pay for it, out of pocket. ”

And, that’s just what the players do. They come to her studio, pay out of pocket and keep leaving her these fantastic testimonials, because they believe it makes a big difference for them, even when they are strong and healthy.

I left the interview, and this thought kept coming up in my mind….In western medicine, this is the mistake we always make. We don’t take care of a person when they are healthy or wanting to stay that way. But the minute something goes wrong the insurance kicks in and the doctors are called in to take care of us. And the way the NFL is using Traditional Chinese Medicine and Hilary’s amazing services is just the same. When philosophically, we all know Acupuncture is a great tool to keep us healthy, so we don’t get sick or can avoid injuries. I guess the players know it, Hilary knows it, but NFL….may be still doesn’t get it. Let us hope that can change.

That’s it. I just had to share.

Love

R

Taking care of this BIG NFL bodies
Raina (Ranjeeta) Schulz

Chief-Editor TrailheadHealth.com Passionate about grass-roots community care. My stories are based on my experiences with MDs and holistic health practitioners.