Michael-Rainabba Richardson
1 min readDec 16, 2021

--

Or... while attempting to rationalize the issue, you miss your "obvious" biases, undermining whatever point you are attempting to make.

I'll forgive you the lack of perspective though because I shared it for much of my life. Having grown up poor, and trailer parks and apartments, surrounded by others who had already failed by our social standards; I was given a gift I would not be able to unwrap until I found myself successful by our social standards.

People who do not have one of their basic needs met, or are experiencing significant stress in one of those areas; will be focused primarily on it. Once basic needs have been met and one is free to spend time and money in non-critical areas, perspective shifts and things like climate change, social equality and such can be their first concern, especially when any one of those areas threaten the current or near future of their children as is the case for those not white, living near a coast, living in tornado Alley, finding their jobs lost or replaced due to the pandemic, etc.

We all have the same fundamental needs and experiences, but our perspectives can be vastly different and misinformed, explaining a lot of the issues you raised.

--

--

Michael-Rainabba Richardson

Just another human trying to understand the world and how best to find my way through.