Beige Flag in Relationship, Is That Bad?

Reza Tri Astuti
2 min readNov 16, 2023

--

Image Source: Pinterest

There’s a red flag, a sign that indicates a bad relationship, and there’s a green flag that indicates a good relationship. But what’s Beige Flag?

On Tiktok, where this term came from, Beige Flag is a sign that doesn’t indicate a bad or good sign. Confusing? Yeah, it might be confusing at first, and there are many misconceptions out there.

But the simple meaning is that a beige flag is a neutral flag that comes from our partner and doesn’t have bad impacts on the relationship.

Beige flag is usually a thing that we have never experienced before and might be weird in our lives. So that’s why, when our partner showed a weird sign, we called it Beige Flag. For example, from Tiktok:

“My boyfriend’s beige flag is being impatient at restaurants and helps the waitress bring the plates to our table”

It clearly doesn’t have a big impact on the relationship, but it’s weird. If it’s a flavor, so it’s none flavor, plain.

Another example from my life:

“My boyfriend’s beige flag is that when he eats something spicy and can’t handle it, he will eat slower than before.”

Why is it weird for me? Because I never experienced this in my life. Again, that doesn’t have a big impact on my life. Besides, that thing can warm up my relationship.

Why is that possible? Because a weird or non-experienced thing or habit that comes not from ourselves makes us think, “Oh, that thing is possible in the world, and that comes from a close relative. What a nice experience, and I think I should accept that.”

So, in my opinion, beige flag is neither a bad nor a good thing. It’s just a thing or habit that comes from our partner, and it’s so random that we never thought about it before. As long as the habit is normal or acceptable, I think the beige flag isn’t a big deal and can’t be a reason for a breakup. Shortly, the beige flag is a bonus spice to the relationship.

--

--

Reza Tri Astuti
0 Followers

Hello, friends! I really love writing. I could write everything in my mind, random, and I would like to share it to you, guys! Xx