The Dreaded Frozen Icon

Raj Radhakrishnan
1 min readJul 25, 2017

--

I was busy working on my portfolio deck for the past 45 minutes. And even the latest version of Powerpoint for Mac does not autosave. I don’t know why. So as I am used to many web applications in the recent times, I did not click the SAVE button. Oh man! That single click cost me 45 minutes. All I see now is the processing icon, in all glory for the past 10 mins. Hoping that it will go away in sometime and my work will be saved. But my hope hangs by a very thin thread which could snap anytime :(

This is the point in time that I just hate powerpoint!

My wishlist for a better experience here:
1. Simplify the file saving process. Don’t even ask me to save. Respect my time and save the file.
2. Create a new version whenever my content changes and allow me to go back to my old file.
3. Just kill this processing icon. It doesn’t help! Just tell me that the system froze and you will not be able to recover my work. Atleast save me 10 extra minutes instead of me starring at a screen with a blind hope.

--

--

Raj Radhakrishnan

UX Designer. Passionate about design, story telling, and solving problems.