Lucid Nightmare

This is what happens when you sleep with your earphones on

Rami Maalouf
4 min readJan 21, 2024
From a scene in Waking Life

You can also find this post in my personal website as well

Context

My sister, my mom, and I lived in the same room for a few days

Pre-dream

At 6 am, I woke up to the sound of my mom’s loud snoring. Determined to focus on something other than the noise, I began coding with Celine Dion songs playing in my ears to drown out the snoring. However, when I reached the Titanic song, it triggered a wave of nostalgia, making me reminisce about the movie. I ended up watching a Titanic edit that brought tears to my eyes. As a result, I started to feel tired again so I decided to go back to sleep with my earphones on, listening to CAS(Cigarettes after sex) this time

Dream

I peacefully fell asleep and started to dream of being in a high school reunion in the middle of the road.

In there, I had my earphones on, listening to music, and as a result, I couldn’t listen to anyone. I removed my earphones in the dream but the music wouldn’t stop. I was very confused

I suddenly felt something suddenly hit my left chest for a second I thought I was being stabbed so I wake up immediately out of fear, just to see that it was just my hand so I immediately closed my eyes scared I wouldn’t be able to fall back asleep if I kept them open for longer. One thing that I always try to do but fail when I wake up in the middle of my dream is to try to continue the dream. I usually fail but it surprisingly worked this time.

Ironically, the event eventually came to an end when a car with wings drove past us. I then remember eating leftovers with my friends as I told them that they’re in my dream

I don’t exactly remember what happened next but the dream ended, or so I thought. What actually happened was I continued dreaming, now in the bed I was sleeping on in real life, but, instead of my mom being beside me, it was a man who looked like one of my roommates in Toronto who stayed for around 3 months

I remember talking to him but I decided to abruptly stop when I noticed I shared a little too much info, then, to my surprise, he speedily comes towards me and stares me into the eye. I try not to react to it as I was scared he would kiss me, or ask me a Q(and I couldn’t hear because I had my earphones on). but instead, he just snatches away my pillow. I was confused but not bothered as I did kinda want to get out of bed anyways.

As I took my final glances at the place and him, I notice his knees extending to over the bed length, which indicates that he’s around twice my height. That’s when I knew I needed to get out of this dream because I do not wanna be in the same bed with someone that’s twice my height.

I take off my earphones as the situation started to get serious, but the music continued on playing. That’s when I noticed that I’m still in a dream, which made me very happy at first because I thought I could escape this horror by just waking up

But I was wrong, I wasn’t able to just open my eyes for some reason. I take another glance at the man and see an evil smile on his face. I start to panic and try harder until I was able to see some sort of light that’s cutting through my dream. I was halfway there, but couldn’t get myself to open my eyes more. So I try to scream something along the lines of “I’m here” because at this point, my fear made me feel like I’ve been stuck in this dream for so long, that my mom, or even some emergency doctor was trying to wake me up.

Post-dream

After what felt like an eternity, I was able to escape the dream. The first thing I did was remove my earphones (which was playing “you’re the only good thing in my life”… Never thought I would have a nightmare listening to this song) to confirm that I am actually awake. I then go to my phone to check how long have I been sleeping for… 1 hour, not hundreds as I thought for a split second

I’m never going to know if I actually managed to actually say “I’m here” or not. You know these few seconds you spend waiting to enter the nether in Minecraft? That’s where I felt I was in as I tried to wake up from my dream.

Post post-dream

Few days later I was in a plane, where I finally decided to watch Waking Life (Life changing kind of movie) where they discuss lucid dreaming.

Post Waking Life

Watching that movie made me notice that I do truly belong to the world and what I decide to do in my time in it does have an effect on the people around me and the world.

I’m extremely grateful to be in a position where I’m able to make a positive impact on the world.

--

--

Rami Maalouf

A lover of building impactful softwares and sharing my knowledge to the world through that process