Top 10 strongest webtoon/manhwa characters (most accurate)

ramnnoodls
5 min readJan 11, 2023

--

Alright, I’ve seen some articles on this topic putting John from Unordinary in the top 10, so I tried to remember the manhwa I’ve read to create a list. Having read around 100 manhwa and some light novels, I think I can create a pretty decent ranking.

Here’s a massive spoiler warning for the following: Second Life Ranker, Omniscient Reader’s Viewpoint, Tower of God, The Gamer, God of Highschool, The Great Mage Returns After 4000 Years, The Dark Magician Transmigrates after 66666 Years, SSS-Class Suicide Hunter, and Solo Leveling. These are in descending order, although some spots can be moved around, and I’m going to limit myself to one character per manhwa. Without further ado, here are the true top 10 strongest (and no, you won’t be seeing John).

The Top 10 Strongest Manhwa Characters:

1. Cha Yeon-woo

If you have read the Second Life Ranker, you know that this dude is overpowered beyond belief. I think it is still my favorite read overall, although I will admit I am attracted to the “main character easily overcoming obstacles with style” trope. Yeon-woo has boundless capabilities with the powers of the Black King, a being similar to Azathoth from the Lovecraft stories.

2. Yang Kai/Luo Zheng/Nie Li

I have to get these cultivation manhwas out of the way because I haven’t read the Martial Peak novel, but undoubtedly all of these characters are among the strongest characters. Their positions in strength are debatable, and I’d say Magic Emperor’s Zhou Fan could also be in this category. Anyways, they all reach far past the universal power realm, and a lot of these characters have powers like/on par with reality manipulation.

3. Kim Dokja

On top of being one of the strongest, he’s also one of the best in my opinion. Dokja was always smart and his knowledge of the story helped him advance through a lot, becoming the Demon King and finally the Ancient Dream Constellation, where he was omniscient and could manipulate reality. Enough to put him above the rest on this list.

4. Phantaminum

A feat-less being shrouded in mystery and above the likes of Zahard and Enryu from Tower of God, I think he could be the true god of the tower. As an Axis, he is basically hinted to have control over a story from the Talze User verse; he has reality manipulation. I think this means he is a weaker version of “The Writer” from DC. I can’t think of many other characters that have this ability on top of strong shinsoo manipulation and so on.

5. Harem King

This character isn’t exactly feat-less as he’s described as a transcendent that overpowers the rest of the Ninth Gate from The Gamer. There are many theories that he’s Han Ji-Han (the main character) from the future, Ji-Han’s son, etc, but considering Ji-Han’s overpowered creation and destruction abilities and his nigh-immortality and how he is still only in the top 10 in the verse, the top dog in the verse definitely belongs in this spot on the list. If I wasn’t taking one character from each manhwa, Han Ji-Han would probably be on the list as well.

6. Jin Mori

Before I get into anything here, I want to say Jin Mori could also take fifth place, but I just want to think the Harem King is stronger. Anyways, this dude is the Goku of webtoons, and he overcame numerous obstacles in God of Highschool. Defeating an ascended Supreme God Park Mujin is no small feat, and he became a True God after reaching Nirvana.

7. Lukas Trowman

Lukas Trowman’s archenemy in the manhwa so far has been Lord, the strongest demigod who already wields spatial powers on a universal level at the least. After having defeated Lord in the novel, he absorbs three universes and is too strong for his universe to handle. I think he deserves a spot on this list for his divine power feats.

8. Diablo Volfir

It may be unfair to put him on this list as he reincarnated as Jamie Welton, but the protagonist of The Dark Magician Transmigrates after 66666 Years is strong enough that his creations were sought after 66666 years later. This man battled multiple gods at once and was close to defeating them, one of them being the sun god Ra. He wields different types of magic and specializes in dark magic and necromancy. I can’t speak for his exact feats, but considering the level of authority currently exercised by the gods, he was the strongest in history and probably stronger than some individual gods.

9. Kim Gongja

I haven't read SSS-Class Suicide Hunter in a while, but I think I read the novel up to about the Heavenly Demon arc. Gongja has a very unique ability where whenever he’s killed, he goes back in time. Not only that, he steals an ability from the person that killed him and keeps his abilities and memories when going back, making him virtually immortal to any attack. It’s a tragic ability but one that gives him the potential to defeat any enemy with time.

10. Sung Jin-Woo

The fan-favorite main character known for being a badass. His abilities speak for themself; Telekinesis, Shadow Manipulation, Regeneration, the list goes on. All of these combined with willpower and strength let him defeat all of the monarchs, each easily having the power to destroy a planet. SJW takes the final spot on the list.

Conclusion

There are too many honorable mentions and I can’t list all of them. I have heard Kubera also has a strong verse and will give that a read soon. Thanks for reading.

--

--